Heath Ledger’s Last Days

328993_heath_ledger_01.jpg

Lisa Taddeo over at Esquire Magazine has written out nearly every minute of Heath Ledger’s last few days on Earth. And no, not pieced together from gossip rags and “news reports,” she wrote out Heath’s last days from his perspective.

The fictional recap of Heath’s last meal (a muffin), his thoughts on Mary-Kate Olsen and his cautionary visit with Jack Nicholson read almost like the real thing. I’ve got to give it up to Lisa for some superb writing on this one.

Mary-Kate is not what you think. She comes off like a straw, something hollow that things pass through. But it’s more an inner strength than a vapid soul. She once told me, Growing up as one half of something made me feel I had to overcompensate to be worth a whole. Then I realized it was the greatest foil. I have a built-in hiding place everywhere I go.

The article’s got a killer message and it’s a brilliant read, see for yourself.

49 Responses

  1. Hmmm very interesting…

  2. i am nelvin tongol from philippines.
    i wa so sad and i was so mad when i heard the news from my idol heath ledger.it’s so hard to believe that he’s dead.i idolized him very much.we all know that he s such a great artist/actor.we realy love him, cause as you guys knows that he doesn’t deserve to die in his young age..wherever you are now dude, i want to say condolence even if it’s too late.and i will never 4get you in my life.i love you dude.hve a nice treat in your 2nd life.i know that god will always guide you in there.

  3. i can’t believe he dies i liked him so much but he got into the character of joker

  4. cant believe he is dead can still see him in my head and when i watch any of his films i have to turn it off because its really upsetting for me

    RIP HEATH

    always in my heart and thoughts go out to your family

    xxxxxxxxxx

  5. I loved Heath he was my favorite actor. He was also a very good person.

    Rest In peace Heath! Your Family and friends are in my thoughts and prayers.

  6. I’m so sad that Heath Ledger died. He was such a great actor and was totally cute. I saw him the first time in the movie “10 Things I Hate About You” and he was sooo great. It is such a shame that someone so handsome and talented died at such a young age. He will be greatly missed.

  7. Oh I forgot to add that he also has a great smile that is soooo cute and captivating.

  8. I have a question. The story or article up there… was it written by Heath? If it was, it’s beautiful.
    I’ve never really seen him act, until i recently saw ‘The Dark Knight’. He was the most brilliant thing in that film. He captivated me and mesmerized me and every time he left the screen, everything would just fade to dull. He is absolutely terrific in acting and could have become one of the most talented faces on earth. He was so young, but he just can’t be with us anymore and it makes me so sad. He’s terrific in everyway. He’s got a gorgeous smile that makes me smile and a gorgeous personality.
    R.I.P. Heath.

    I am going to rent all of your films. You’re too awesome.

  9. Era muy Guapoteeeeeee y de maciado excelente autor y pxq todo el mundo del país en Costa Rica ven esa pelicula tan importante para uno ó cada persona que le gusta ver esa pelicula en los cines de todos los molles y tenía unas piernas tan bonitas lástima que se mató asíííííííí tan feooooooo y tan bien lo felicitó por tan buen autor de hacer peliculas tan buenas ¿como el callero de la noche? se despide dan dole el pesaméééééé a la familia y amigos.
    hasta luego y chao byeeeee.

  10. oh my goodness i cannot believe that heath ledger is dead. its so sad. i love the movie 10 things i hate about you and everytime i watch it always makes me rememeber that he died not too long ago. =(

  11. I Cant Believe It I Loved Him In The New Batman Film He Was So Good!
    R.I.P

    .Heath.

  12. R.I.P Heath

    You Will Be Missed.

    x

  13. R.I.P Heath

  14. I love Heath, I miss Heath, Heath is my hero. Love you all ways no matter were you are.

    In Our Memory,

    Watch as we get up and dust ourselves off
    wipe tears from each others eyes and march on.
    Head held high proud of what you’ve done.
    No matter what they say we have lost.
    In our memory they shall stay.

    What doesn’t kill us, so they say,
    We stand together through tough times.
    We laugh at the memory of your smile, fun days and insider jokes that will never fade.
    In our memory you will never die.

    So this is how your story ends,
    How the ones you touched will never forget.
    We hold our head up high, and remember good times.
    We are proud to have known you.
    Proud of the things you archived in your short time,
    Proud of everything you were, and to us will always be.
    Our hearts march on to the rythem of your heart beat.

    In our memory you will never fade away.

    Rest in peace, Heath Ledger
    You brought happiness in to the lives of everyone who had the privilege of knowing you.
    Thank you for all the great times.

    R.I.P .Heath.

  15. I loved all his movies and his smile
    R.I.P
    heath we´ll love u forever

  16. Well, i just wanted to congratulate you on being a brainless waste of life. Good luck finding the true meaning of life, and if not, ignorance is bliss.

  17. Lizz, how can you be so disrespectful? The man is dead, and probably accomplished more in his life than you ever will. I would like to see how smart you… Let us know when YOU find the meaning of life. But on a greater note, Heath was a great actor and person period. We will all miss you and the fantastic movies that you have made and could have made.

  18. May God bless you always.

  19. i loved heath ive seen most of all his films he is the hottest and most talented thing to ever lay his face on earth
    RIP Heath you will be loved so much.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  20. even though im 12 years of age heath ledger was an amazing actor for his past years
    he did a wonderful job of being the joker for the batman the dark knight
    even though he lived his character that doesnt mean he cant have a second chance in life
    so Heath i love you and ill see you soon when i come when its my time
    when i first found out that Heath ledger died i was shocked like i didnt know who he was until he started broke back mountain
    knowing that that he died at a young age he was like and elvis
    like when my mom was a little girl like me she loved elvis presley. and when she found out that he died she was in shock
    so thats how Heath ledger was like to me.
    i just cant beleive that he had already past. My dream was before i died that i would be able to meet Heath ledger on ellen.
    if that did happen i would of been that happiest girl on the planet i looked up to him.
    i am an actress for a childrens thearter and that would of been an amazing thing if he would of seen one of my plays that i did.
    I love you Heath Ledger
    rest in peace
    Kristina Shoemaker

  21. as most people i will miss Heath ledger with all my heart and soul…to be honest i didnt really watch his films however i watched a knights tale at school just after he died and i think he is a trumendus actor/artist and will never be forgotten! the films heath made were superb and cannot be topped…no1 will ever be able to replace him or the way he acts and i just wanted to say he has touched lives of many of us and tose hu he does not even no…rest in peace Heath Ledger…and many appologies to his family and friends..they say god always takes those who are kind and loving i guess god wanted Heath all to him self! lol lotsalove kirandeep kaur B xoxo kkb xxx…xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx(L)

  22. When I found out that Heath Ledger died, I just couldn’t belive he was a great actor. I first saw him in the movie “10 things i hate about you” I just thought that he was great and he had a great smile and he was cute. I also liked his other movie in “the dark night” he look so BADASS!!!!! But It’s just not fair that he died at a very young age. I will always love you and miss you and will never forget you Heath.
    R.I.P Heath Ledger

  23. I saw a one hour biography of Heath Ledger on Channel E today with my aunt…and by the time it ended, both of us were crying. Heath would put a smile on our faces whenever he appeared on screen. His performance in movies like Brokeback Mountain and The Patriot were amazing. I recently saw “The Dark Knight” and there are no words to describe the magical, horrific and spine chilling performance he gave. May his soul rest in peace and may God bless his daughter – Matilda.
    Heath Ledger…you will be remembered.

  24. I know where he got the drugs from, no comment on that though, and I can tell you it was NOT from the Olsen twins.

  25. pobre hombre..
    tan joven,
    es una lastima 😦

  26. I love you Heath you were one of my most fav, actors! so so so sad and that doesnt even begin to explain what it really is Im so sorry for his little princess not to be able to see her daddy and know her daddy anyone and everyone can tell her who he was but she will never know him like she would if he was here 😦 and Im so sorry for Michelle and Im so sorry for his family and friends and Im so sorry for him not to be able to have his daughter looking back into his eyes when he is visiting her or hearing his voice and being able to answer him back my heart goes out to everyone one and again I LOVE YOU HEATH YOU WERE TRULY AN AMZING ACTOR XOXOXO

  27. I love you Heath you were one of my most fav, actors! so so so sad and that doesnt even begin to explain what it really is Im so sorry for his little princess not to be able to see her daddy and know her daddy anyone and everyone can tell her who he was but she will never know him like she would if he was here 😦 and Im so sorry for Michelle and Im so sorry for his family and friends and Im so sorry for him not to be able to have his daughter looking back into his eyes when he is visiting her or hearing his voice and being able to answer him back my heart goes out to everyone and again I LOVE YOU HEATH YOU WERE TRULY AN AMZING ACTOR XOXOXO RIP XOXO

  28. HEATH you were fantastic. Truly, you were one of the best. You will be missed by everyone and now you’re watchin’ over all of us movie-goers.
    Rest in peace ♥

  29. I can’t believe it. Such a great Actor, a great Man.. In Brokeback Mountain, he’s just so good. It really makes me sad what happened to him, it’s so unfair. My heart goes out to his family and his friends too.

    You will always be a Legend,
    Rest in Peace Heath.

  30. yeah, lizz was it? you are so disrespectful. or however you spell it. i hate it when stupid people always say ”oh yeah, heath ledger is so hot. id fuck him” i mean, thats so rude! even if that is true, keep it to yourself whore! i found a few people who said that, and i yelled at them! (through typing:) but when he was in 10 things i hate about you, in an interview, he says that he doesnt really wanna be the guy that all the teen girls love and wanna do him. i wouldnt wanna either! he was a great actor. and a great man. he deserves way better than some stupid little girl saying, oh hes hot id fuck him. thats so disrespectful.
    hes better than that.
    so if anyone says that theyd fuck him, be prepared cuz i will find out how to get a hold of you. ( through email probably, im not a stalker) but yeah.
    he will always be remebered, his family is in our thoughts and prayers, rest in peace heath.

  31. oh….. my god…..
    i fell in love Ledger in (Knight tale) he is a perfect acator.

  32. What a LOSS! Though i never used to be one of his fans i feel so sorry for his early death , i mean… what happened here , can somebody please tell me?? It looks like a JOKE to me.Would u like to hear smth? I’M GOING TO BE HONEST. When for the first time i heard that “HEATH LEDGER” passed away ,I confused between him and ” MATTHIEW MC CONAUGHEY”! it was my friend at work who brouhgt me that sad news to me , and i was like ” wich one is Heath Ledger ?”, then when i came to diffrenciate between the two of them i was like: “thank god it wasn’t Matthew “…!!! Now i feel somehow ashamed. I mean i feel no offense to anybody at all ,specially to people with such career they do a lot of hard work work ,A BEAUTIFUL WORK,and i like acting that’s what makes me appreciate most ,but what a stupid thing from me to say, and GUESS what , it wasn’t untill i watched “the DARK KNIGHT “that i felt that SORRY, cos this time too i didn’t know that it was him playing “THE JOKER”!!! HE ICREDEBLY ASTONISHED ME with that role . Here’s the story : I was telling another friend about the movie and how much it impressed me , telling her that it was the JOKER’s caracter that gave the film a” MAGICAL TOUCH” because of the performance he did ,and it was then again that i also asked who’s “HEATH LEDGER” then she answered:”it was the one who died because of an overdose”!
    It was then that i was like “OH.MY.GOD!”
    After that i watched the movie 4 TIMES it was his caracter that attracted me most.WHAT A LOSS.

    You see, this comment i’m making is , because i couldn’t accept what happened ,to myself. I JUST COULDN’T ACCEPT HOW STUPID I WAS, and because I’M NOT THE KIND OF PEOPLE THAT ONLY NOTICE HOW PRECIOUS A PERSON IS UNLESS WHEN THIS PERSON DIES. No i’m not , and that’s why i feel sorry about his early death, sorry about myself. NOW I HAVE CHILLS all over my body when somebody mentions him in front of me or when i remember him. I’M SORRY HEATH.
    I COULDN’T SEE HOW MUCH IMPORTANT U WERE UNTILL YOUR LAST WORK , BUT GUESS WHAT THAT’S WHAT MADE U IMMORTEL TO ME . U ARE ALIVE !! MORE THAN EVER!!

  33. i feel the pretend story of heath’s final days was ridiculous. he was a man who’s job was to entertain the world with his craft. and did so with great talent and full heart. but a man non-the-less who deserved privacy. which the world was reluctant to give. so please don’t try to take his last days away from him or the ones who truly knew him. that was his life. he was gracious enough to give so much of himself in character, why make up a pretend life of him. this is how stupid stories get started. he was a great actor and a terrific person, let him be.

  34. What a LOSS! Though i never used to be one of his fans i feel so sorry for his early death , i mean… what happened here , can somebody please tell me?? It looks like a JOKE to me.Would u like to hear smth? I’M GOING TO BE HONEST. When for the first time i heard that “HEATH LEDGER” passed away ,I confused between him and ” MATTHIEW MC CONAUGHEY”! it was my friend at work who brouhgt me that sad news , and i was like ” wich one is Heath Ledger ?”, then when i came to diffrenciate between the two of them i was like: “thank god it wasn’t Matthew “…!!!
    Now i feel somehow ashamed. I mean i feel no offense to anybody at all ,specially to people with such career they do a lot of hard work work ,A BEAUTIFUL WORK,and i like acting that’s what makes me appreciate most ,but what a stupid thing from me to say, and GUESS what , it wasn’t untill i watched “the DARK KNIGHT “that i felt that SORRY, cos this time too i didn’t know that it was him playing “THE JOKER”!!! HE ICREDEBLY ASTONISHED ME with that role . Here’s the story : I was telling another friend about the movie and how much it impressed me , telling her that it was the JOKER’s character that gave the film a” MAGICAL TOUCH” because of the performance he did ,and it was then again that i also asked who’s “HEATH LEDGER” then she answered:”it was the one who died because of an overdose”!
    It was then that i was like “OH.MY.GOD!”
    After that i watched the movie 4 TIMES it was his caracter that attracted me most.WHAT A LOSS.

    You see, this comment i’m making is , because i couldn’t accept what happened ,to myself. I JUST COULDN’T ACCEPT HOW STUPID I WAS, and because I’M NOT THE KIND OF PEOPLE THAT ONLY NOTICE HOW PRECIOUS A PERSON IS UNLESS WHEN THIS PERSON DIES. No i’m not , and that’s why i feel sorry about his early death, sorry about myself. NOW I HAVE CHILLS all over my body when somebody mentions him in front of me or when i remember him. I’M SORRY HEATH.
    I COULDN’T SEE HOW MUCH IMPORTANT U WERE UNTIL YOUR LAST WORK , BUT GUESS WHAT THAT’S WHAT MADE U IMMORTEL TO ME . U ARE ALIVE !! MORE THAN EVER!!

  35. There’s nothing I can say that hasn’t been said already. I wish I could have known him. I hate to think….

    Ah, Heath. Why did you have to do drugs? Tears are welling up in my eyes already. You were so amazing!

    …Why’d you have to mess it up?

    ….so many people love you Heath.

    If only you knew…

  36. MAYBE I NEVER MEET YOU, BUT I KNO FOR SHORE YOU WERE A GREAT MAN AND U WILL ALWAYS BE ..

    WE ALL GOING TO MISS YOU EVEN THOU WE ONLY SO YOU ON MOVIES OR ONLY HEARD ABOUT YOU WE SO AND HEARD GREAT THING AND THAT’S WHY WE WILL NEVER FORGET AND WHENEVER WE NEED TO CRY FOR U WE WILL.. EVEN THOU U NEVER IMAGIN OR SO US WE WILL ALWAYS HAVE YOU IN OR MEMORYS IN UR DIARY, WE MIGHT EVEN KEEP IT FOR THE REST OF AWER LIVES AND THAT FOR ME WILL BE THE BEST THING EVER …

    WERE EVER YOU ARE HOPE YOUR HAPPY AND I WISH U CAN READ NOT ONLY MY MESSAGE BUT EVERYONE WHO LOVES YOU U AS MUCH AS I DO.

    THIS MAYBE NOT BE THE BEST TIME TO TELL YOU BUT IM SHORE WERE EVER YOU ARE UP THERE I WANNA TELL YOU I LOVE YOU , I MISS U AND ILL NEVER FORGET YOU AND THAT’S A PROMICE

    MMUUUAAHHZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You! I ♥ You!

    “……..¶¶¶¶¶¶…………¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ….¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶….¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶……..¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶……..¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶….¶¶¶¶¶ ¶¶
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶.
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ….¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ……¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ………¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ………..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    …………¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ………….¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ……………¶¶”

  37. Heath,there was so much more u had to do 😦
    its a painfull shock tht Heath Ledger is no more.
    it’s unfair.i cant say anything more.

  38. rest in peace buddy

    RIP heath

  39. im gonna miss this guy, he did so well as an actor, and it’s just a shame he’s gone =[
    R.I.P. heath xxx

  40. era bien guapo y tan buen actor me gustan mucho sus peliculas

  41. i cant believe he is dead i still cant believe it he was one of my favorite actors and he will always be i love yu heath ledger yu are a great actor yu are the best i hope yu are in a great place god bless yu and yur family we all love yu,yu are GREAT!!!

  42. I Love You Heath no matter were you are an I’l allways remember you.I hope you happy in Heaven. I send you a kiss from the deep of my heart.

  43. I just saw the movie ”10 things I hate about you” it’s so sad to see him, it just feels like he’s still alive, when i see him in the movie. smiling .

    R.I.P Heath

    You are deeply missed, not only by your loved ones, but by large parts of the world. We all love you !

  44. “…..¶¶¶¶¶¶… …¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ….¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶….¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶……..¶¶¶¶¶
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶……..¶¶¶¶¶
    ¶¶¶ R.I.P HEATH LEDGER ¶¶¶
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶.
    ¶¶¶¶¶ 4 EVER LOVED ¶¶¶¶¶
    ….¶¶¶¶ 4 EVER MISSED ¶
    ……¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ¶¶¶¶¶
    ………¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ………..¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    …………¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ………….¶¶¶¶¶¶
    ……………¶¶”

  45. lastima ke estes murto te amo con todo mi corazon veo tus peliculas 1 i otra vez para recordarte 100pre estaras en mi nadie te va a reemplazar te amo te amo te amo te amooooooooooooooo

  46. I liked you very much in the film The Dark Knight., You’ve play your roll of the Joker very well!!

    I can’t believe that you are no more.

    I will miss U a Lot !!!
    (I’m you BIGGEST fan!!)

  47. Heath Andrew Ledger…… we will always miss him greatly!!!! the 6′ 1″ AUSTRALIAN HUNK will allways run through my mind…….. January 22, 2008 was the worst day!!!!! (**cyrz**)

  48. i just want to say he looked like a creeper in batman but he actually was really hot!

  49. he’s been in a couple of great films;

    Batman – the dark knight, pearl harbour, the patriot.
    he shall never be forgotten

Leave a Reply

