The Art of Growing Up

“Growing up feels, sometimes, like standing on a precipice. You look out over a glittering vision of stability, a promise of love, of prosperity and permanence. You desire all of these things intensely, but just as intense is your urge to turn and run; to keep sleeping on couches and having ephemeral relationships, and to own nothing that can’t be left behind.”

I mean…I couldn’t have said it better myself. This quote is taken from one of my favorite articles written about one of my favorite bands in one of my favorite magazines. Kate Williams on Bright Eyes in NYLON.

It’s days like today (well it’s pretty much everyday) when I really wish I was back in NYC interning with NYLON or just back at school. The real world is less than enticing and I feel like I’m being sucked into a black hole impossible to claw my way out of. Sure, making money is cool. Actually having a positive balance in my checking account is great, but I’m dying to…as Kate so eloquently states, “keep sleeping on couches and having ephemeral relationships, and to own nothing that can’t be left behind.”

Peter Pan Syndrome has cursed me.

One Response

  1. Word.

Leave a Reply

