Lost Locks

I’m one of those people who live by constants. I have certain routines, and established ways. Don’t get me wrong, I love trying new things and I like change and if I like what’s new, I don’t stray.

Throughout my tenure on The Plains I always had my hair cut at Dimensions Hair Salon by the same stylist. Lyndsey. She was amazing. She was one of those people you instantly trust and keep going back to, because not only do they do a phenomenal job but they make you feel like you’ve been friends forever. These stylists are hard to find. Thus, once you find them you stick to it.

Once I moved to Savannah I was in dire need of a trim. I found myself sitting at my desk pulling apart my split ends and snapping off the damaged strands. Driving the five hours to Auburn for a haircut was not an option, unfortunately.

I really wasn’t worried about finding a decent place for haircut in this town. Savannah is an artsy town with a ton of rich art students who shell out the big bucks for a trendy crop. I figured I’d just ask around.

After a bit of research I decided on a brand new salon that happened to be just two blocks from my apartment. About a month ago I scheduled a cut and color for the following Saturday morning.

Saturday, I woke up very excited about visiting this new salon, determined to try out a semi-new look.

All was going well to begin with. My stylist was a man. A gay man of course. He was great, made me feel comfortable and at home. Offered me water, lunch and wine even. He gave me one of those spine tingling scalp massages. It was like a day of pampering at the spa. I was thoroughly enjoying myself.

I asked for caramel and gold highlights and a choppy cut with layers galore and stressed, STRESSED that I wanted to keep the length. My exact words being, “I don’t want to go much shorter. Two inches at most just to get rid of the dead stuff.” Even while he was highlighting my hair I was telling him horror stories of past haircuts that included cuts shorter than shoulder length.

* Just as a note, my hair was down to the small of my back at the time.

Four hours later, my cape comes off I look at the floor and my heart drops. There is a lot more than two inches of hair on the floor. He turns me around hands me a mirror and cheerfully asks, “What do you think? I love it you look so glamorous!”

My chest is burning with anger, I get a lump in my throat and I can feel the tears creeping in. I run my fingers through my now SHOULDER LENGTH hair and say, “It’s great, thanks.”

That’s right. I didn’t complain. I didn’t cry and scream that he had ruined my hair and in turn taken my one glory from me. I just paid and left.

I’m not one for confrontation. And I wanted to spare his feelings. I was just too much in shock to even speak. So there went $200 of my hard earned money and 10 inches of hair.

Am I being dramatic? I mean maybe. But what I’ve learned is that I will never again in my life have a man cut my hair. I just don’t think they understand how much a woman’s hair lends to her self confidence. Especially for women with long hair.

One month has passed since that fateful day and I’ve worn my hair in a ponytail nearly everyday. I’ve done everything in my power to make it grow. I’ve been popping biotin pills and omega 3 capsules like candy. I’ve doubly increased my protein intake and peanut butter has become my best friend.

And now, I can finally wear my hair down and feel semi confidant. It’s grown maybe an inch and a half to two inches.

Needless to say, I won’t be getting my haircut anytime soon.

Here are before and after pictures for your viewing pleasure.

Before & After

n7010750_36571692_932.jpgn7010750_36642813_3785.jpg

Now:

kim1.jpg

4 Responses

  1. […] just read a story (with pictures) written by a young woman about her devastating salon visit and her oath to never visit a male hairdressser again.Ā  Objectively I can say that a.) she is […]

  2. Well, personally, I think all three of those pictures look great. You have great hair in all three!

    BUT, when you don’t get what you ask for and it’s something you don’t like I think I can safely say most girls know that it doesn’t matter what anyone else says about how great it looks, you’re going to hate it. We’ve all been there! šŸ™‚

    Great blog, I found you on 20SB. šŸ™‚

  3. I feel your pain. I am the same way about my hair, it is what makes me feel pretty. Luckily, my stylist is one of my friends so if something doesn’t go right, she knows I’m coming for her šŸ™‚

  4. Awww that’s happened to me before! Exact same horror story! I had pictures and EVERYTHING too. My new stylist, also, was a gay man.

    Since then a straight man cut my hair once, and it was ok.

    But I have since been cutting my hair myself and love it šŸ™‚

    And, no, you’re not overreacting. You’re a woman. Your heart and expression of yourself lies in how you present yourself to the world, especially since you have a creative soul.

    I reacted in precisely the same way, if it makes you feel any better!

Leave a Reply

