Getting Pierced

l_5eb3c63b324d973f6ee9666d8e3d80a1.jpg

The Pierces are a folk-pop duo out of New York City, by way of Birmingham, Alabama. The sisterly Southern belles found semi-stardom by performing their song, “Three Wishes” on the teen soap sensation, Gossip Girl.

It just so happens that a good friend of mine, who happens to be an avid fanatic of the series, recommended this band to me. Honestly, I’m not the biggest fan of disheartened songstresses, not unless they’re a real talent (see: Jenny Lewis, Regina Spektor), but I figured I’d give The Pierces a listen.

While I’m sure their stunning good-looks make quite the impression, I can’t say the same for their new album, Thirteen Tales of Love and Revenge. Their songwriting and choice of musical arrangements are plucky at best but I’m afraid the album as a whole is…well…the title of their new single says it best, “Boring.”

On a brighter note, songs like gypsy-folk, glockenspiel laden, “Three Wishes” and ghostly semi-erotic, “Go To Heaven,” make me think these girls have potential and with the likes of Gossip Girl name dropping The Pierces, their career can only blossom.

And as The Pierces and I share the same Alma Mater, Auburn University, I wish them all the luck in the world. War Eagle, girls!

Leave a Reply

